This idea has always seemed a bit strange to me.

First off, I genuinely find it really difficult to drink even 3 or 4 glasses of water in a day, unless I’m doing a lot of exercise. And I don’t usually feel dehydrated. But if I’m working under the belief that I should drink 8 glasses or more every day, then I am feeling guilty for not doing the ‘right’ thing. And generally speaking, I’m not sure that guilt is good for one’s health.

A few years ago I read this article, and it got me thinking (go figure, I think slow). Maybe our bodies are a bit more efficient than we give them credit for. Surely they can’t be so hopeless that regardless of what we’re doing with our day, for simple survival (or even optimal health) we need to glug down a couple of litres. And surely, how much water you need in a day varies depending on how hot it is, how humid it is, how active you’re being, what you’re eating (since there’s water in food) etc.

I mean, if you’re running a marathon in the desert, you probably need upwards of 10 litres of water, and if you’re sitting down for most of the day in a temperate climate, well, a couple of glasses (as well as the water in your food) is possibly enough.

I’m not a doctor, and I’m not saying to drink or not drink a certain amount. I’m saying that with this (and plenty of other things), I feel like the best thing for me is to listen to my body, and drink when it tells me that it’s thirsty, and eat when it tells me that it’s hungry, etc. If I’m paying attention to my body, it does give me cues about this stuff.

I know that other people have different feelings about drinking water, but this works for me. Tell me what you think.

